Three years ago today I hiked Spurwink Island Path from Port Kirwan to the Berry Head sea arch and Spurwink Island beyond.

This beautiful trail is kind of out of the way for me, a 100 km drive just to get to the trailhead, not too far but not exactly close to home either. On the drive to Port Kirwan I enjoyed the Sunday Jigs and Reels on the radio, there’s nothing like some traditional Newfoundland tunes for a trip on the scenic Southern Shore Highway!

Port Kirwan, the start and end of my hike - Spurwink Island Path

Port Kirwan, the start and end of my hike – Spurwink Island Path

When I started my hike in the early morning the ground was still crisp and frozen beneath my feet, but soon enough the bright sun warmed everything up, as promised by the forecast. I walked the entire hike in just a t-shirt, I’m not sure how warm it got in the end but I got a mild sunburn even after using an SPF 60 sunscreen.

It was a 20k hike from the trailhead to Spurwink Island and back, including all the little viewpoint trails and some fun off-trail exploration. I took my sweet time enjoying all the sights and sounds, the trail was in fair shape, a bit soggy in places, many trees down, but most of them were easy to get around.

Here are some pictures from the day:

Bald Head & Shoal Bay - Spurwink Island Path

Bald Head & Shoal Bay – Spurwink Island Path

Waves below Bald Head - Spurwink Island Path

Waves below Bald Head – Spurwink Island Path

Wildlife-wise, I only saw a few squirrels and seals, and they were all quite surprised to see me. Otherwise I had the entire trail to myself all day long, a typically wonderful East Coast Trail experience.

The beach at Chance Bay was a nice place for a rest-stop:

Chance Bay Beach - Spurwink Island Path

Chance Bay Beach – Spurwink Island Path

Forest trail- Spurwink Island Path

Forest trail- Spurwink Island Path

Three hours into my leisurely-paced hike I reached the spectacular sight of the sea arch at Berry Head, and set up my camera to take this photo of me on top. You may recognize the picture from the cover of the East Coast Trail Guide:

Berry Head Sea Arch - Spurwink Island Path

Berry Head Sea Arch – Spurwink Island Path

View from the top - Spurwink Island Path

View from the top – Spurwink Island Path

On top of the arch I enjoyed the view towards Ferryland and the Sounding Hills across the bay; Spurwink Island was also visible from the arch:

First look at Spurwink Island - Spurwink Island Path

First look at Spurwink Island – Spurwink Island Path

Continuing the hike just beyond Little Gallows Cove, I found my turnaround point above Spurwink Island:

Spurwink Island - Spurwink Island Path

Spurwink Island – Spurwink Island Path

I always split these long trails in half when I hike alone, returning for the other half some other day, this way I always have something nice to look forward to 🙂