After visiting the spectacular sea arch near Port Kirwan shown in my previous post, I was in the mood to see another East Coast Trail treasure: Lance Cove beach.

This long and sandy beach is located about 8 km east of Cape Broyle on Cape Broyle Head Path, one of the longer and more difficult paths on the East Coast Trail.

In Cape Broyle, the beach-side trailhead is a little tricky to find, it’s little more than a ribbon-marked gap in the trees about a hundred metres east of the wharf, but after stepping into the forest the trail is straightforward enough.

Southside wharf - Cape Broyle

Southside wharf – Cape Broyle

Forest trail - Cape Broyle Head Path

Forest trail – Cape Broyle Head Path

Viewpoint on the bay - Cape Broyle Head Path

Viewpoint on the bay – Cape Broyle Head Path

Freshwater Cove - Cape Broyle Head Path

Freshwater Cove – Cape Broyle Head Path

After a brisk 9 km hike which included some great viewpoints, several little side trails and some careful cliff-side exploration, I reached Lance Cove beach, and it was beautiful!

Lance Cove beach from above - Cape Broyle Head Path

Lance Cove beach from above – Cape Broyle Head Path

As soon as I got down on the beach, I took my shoes off and walked the entire 500 m length of it up and down through the icy cold water, a guaranteed way to cool your feet ;-).

After that, I enjoyed my lunch, the sun was shining and I had the place all to myself, a perfect day!

Take your shoes off - Lance Cove beach, Cape Broyle Head Path

Take your shoes off – Lance Cove beach, Cape Broyle Head Path

Walking through the water - Lance Cove beach, Cape Broyle Head Path

Walking through the water – Lance Cove beach, Cape Broyle Head Path

Long Will sea stack, Lance Cove beach - Cape Broyle Head Path

Long Will sea stack, Lance Cove beach – Cape Broyle Head Path

At the end of a relaxing afternoon I walked back through the forest completely satisfied, vowing to return soon on some other sunny day.