I can’t tell you how much I’m looking forward to visiting Newfoundland this month, there are so many icebergs right now and I want to see as many of them as possible!

Until that time, memories will have to do, so here are some photos from a cool night in May 2012, on beautiful Stiles Cove Path.

There had been icebergs in Pouch Cove every day that week, and while I’d already taken my fair share of pictures, I wanted something special for my next shoot, so out at night I went:

Iceberg underneath a starry sky – Stiles Cove Path

That’s pretty special, if I do say so myself… I only hoped for a field of stars above the iceberg, but I got a galaxy and a shooting star as a bonus!

That bright fuzzy thing near the top is the Andromeda Galaxy, when you’re out at night you can’t really see it with the naked eye but it does often show up in my night photos. The same goes for that faint shooting star, somehow I always manage to get them near the edge of the frame, oh well, it’s a nice shot regardless. 🙂

The lens I used for the above shot wasn’t nearly wide enough to capture the Milky Way  sparkling overhead, so for that shot I got out my fisheye lens, which is so wide it curves the horizon itself:

Milky Way over the iceberg – Stiles Cove Path

Yep, that’s me in the picture, who can resist taking a selfie with an iceberg and the Milky Way?

As night slowly turned into dawn, I left the cliffs of Pouch Cove and hiked out to Stiles Cove itself to see the sunrise:

Distorted sunrise – Stiles Cove Path

As the sun peeked over the edge, the morning sky distorted its appearance, making it look like a squashed orange. Those dark spots on the sun are actual sunspots, many times the size of earth. After a few minutes the sun was strong enough to light up the cove:

Sunrise in Stiles Cove – Stiles Cove Path

Ah, fond memories,.. and I’m sure I will soon make some brand new memories when I arrive in Newfoundland!