The Geminid meteor shower is one of the best meteor showers of the year (and my personal favourite), but this year its beautiful ‘shooting stars’ will have to contend with a full moon which makes the night sky so bright it will be hard to spot any but the brightest of fireballs.

Add to that an official Winter Storm Warning from Environment Canada and you’ve pretty much got a good excuse to stay in bed instead… That said, I always go outside for the Geminids: as long as I can get somewhere safe I’ll take my chances and see what happens.

If you’re like that too and you’re aching to see this year’s meteor shower, here are the usual tips: dress warmly, find a dark location away from city lights, look up from midnight to 6AM the following morning (tonight and tomorrow night), and of course avoid looking at that pretty but far too bright full moon!

Stay safe and have fun!