Five years ago today I enjoyed a fine foggy evening on Signal Hill.

When I arrived at the Cabot Tower my gaze was first drawn across the bay where Cape Spear was being overtaken by a snug blanket of fog:

Fog across the bay - Signal Hill

Fog across the bay – Signal Hill

Beautiful as that sight was, I soon noticed another blanket approaching from the north, so I walked up Cuckolds Cove Trail where I was just in time to see Quidi Vidi and Bawdens Highland disappear in the fog:

Fog on the highland - Cuckolds Cove Trail

Fog on the highland – Cuckolds Cove Trail

Fog on Cuckolds Head - Cuckolds Cove Trail

Fog on Cuckolds Head – Cuckolds Cove Trail

After a few minutes of swirling the fog retreated into the background behind the trail. This next photo shows the start of Sugarloaf Path near Quidi Vidi, with the fog picking up the last light of the day behind it:

Fog along the East Coast Trail

Fog along the East Coast Trail