Last week I shared some early morning shots from Red Cliff, which towers an impressive 180 metres above the ocean. Today I’m sharing pictures from an equally well-suited sunrise spot: Stiles Cove Path’s Red Head, which comes in at a more subtle height of 80 metres.

When I got out of the car near the big radio tower, I was pleased to see I was still early enough to see the Milky Way:

Milky Way - Stiles Cove Path

Milky Way – Stiles Cove Path

In late September we are nowhere near any major meteor shower, but still I saw plenty of shooting stars in just this one hour before it became too bright. There’s three of them in the above photo, but they don’t really show up in this small image.

The next shot is the one I came for, I wanted to have a starry sky above the first signs of the nautical dawn:

Stars at nautical dawn - Stiles Cove Path

Stars at nautical dawn – Stiles Cove Path

On the right side of the image, you can see the Gemini twins, with a yellowish Mars below them. While I was waiting on the perfect balance of stars and sunlight, I heard a minke whale surface below, but it was still much too dark to see it.

A little before sunrise, the thin crescent moon presented itself:

Thin crescent over the Atlantic - Stiles Cove Path

Thin crescent over the Atlantic – Stiles Cove Path

This was mere minutes after rising, so the above shot still shows some atmospheric distortion.

Old moon over the Atlantic - Stiles Cove Path

Old moon over the Atlantic – Stiles Cove Path

This last shot was a spontaneous thing, a sunrise selfie on the cliffs:

Silhouette sunrise - Stiles Cove Path

Silhouette sunrise – Stiles Cove Path

What a beautiful dawn! And it’s just the beginning of my long hiking day! 🙂