Back in September 2012, ‘extratropical cyclone’ Leslie raged over Newfoundland causing rolling power outages and considerable damage to houses and trees. The day after the storm I went for a hike on Cape Spear Path to see how bad the damage was, and to get some fresh air after a long day inside.

Storm damage - Cape Spear Path

Storm damage – Cape Spear Path

Aside from trees that had been ripped from the ground, there was no sign of the foul weather from the day before. I enjoyed blue skies above, a pleasant ocean breeze, and warm sunshine: a beautiful day for a hike!

My first stop on the trail was Square Rock Gulch, a great little place that comes with its own pebble beach. Pretty as it is, this place is often overlooked because it’s largely hidden from view.

Square Rock Gulch - Cape Spear Path

Square Rock Gulch – Cape Spear Path

Pebble beach in Square Rock Gulch - Cape Spear Path

Pebble beach in Square Rock Gulch – Cape Spear Path

As I continued my hike along Motion Bay the waves grew in size, often breaking on the cliffs in spectacular fashion:

Crashing waves - Cape Spear Path

Crashing waves – Cape Spear Path

Rocky coast - Cape Spear Path

Rocky coast – Cape Spear Path

Throughout the day I frequently climbed down the almost step-like cliffs to take in the show, the waves were very relaxing to watch.

In the forest above I ran into more toppled trees on my way east, the damage was substantial in some areas:

More storm damage - Cape Spear Path

More storm damage – Cape Spear Path

After 5pm, I took a deep breath and turned around. The sun was slowly dropping in the evening sky and I still had some distance to cover before I got back to my car in Maddox Cove.

Looking back towards Maddox Cove - Cape Spear Path

Looking back towards Maddox Cove – Cape Spear Path

Closing in on the finish line, the setting sun lit up the haze drifting in from the ocean:

Glowing haze - Cape Spear Path

Glowing haze – Cape Spear Path

What a beautiful way to end a hike on the East Coast Trail 🙂