In my previous post I asked what you could possible want from your hike after you’ve already been blessed with great weather and beautiful scenery. It was a rhetorical question of course, but even they deserve an answer sometimes, and my answer is ‘whales’.

In the summer time, expecting to see a whale on your hike is more than wishful thinking, in fact I’ve seen whales on the vast majority of my east coast summer hikes.

One day in June 2012, after watching the capelin roll onto Middle Cove beach, I stepped into the forest to explore Silver Mine Head Path. Not 5 minutes into my hike I heard a whale surfacing nearby, its blow was so close to the cliffs I had to approach the edge to see it swim by below me:

Humpback below the trail - Silver Mine Head Path

Humpback below the trail – Silver Mine Head Path

It’s always exciting to see a humpback whale so close to the trail, and this one was heading straight for Middle Cove beach! I rushed back up the path and back to the beach to see just how close the whale would get to the capelin-fishermen, and this is what I saw:

Humpback near Middle Cove beach - Silver Mine Head Path

Humpback near Middle Cove beach – Silver Mine Head Path

That’s pretty close right?! I’m sure you can’t tell from this small picture but in the original I can see that the guy in the water has a big grin on his face! Maybe like me he figured the whale was a little too big for his dip net. 🙂