Can you feel it? Spring is in the air! Just around the corner! No really!

In times like these I always feel the need to go out and explore something new, it doesn’t really matter if it’s close to home or far away, I just want it to be new.

Three years ago today was such a day, it was cold but sunny so I took it upon myself to explore a very familiar place in a completely new way: did you know there was a trail from North Head that leads all the way into Cuckolds Cove?

Right on St. John’s doorstep itself, this little-used trail was very new to me so I was on my way as soon as I saw it. The resulting hike involved quite a bit of climbing, scrambling, sliding, and negotiating plenty of wet areas, but the views from down in the cove were totally worth it:

Colourful Cuckolds Cove - St. John's

Colourful Cuckolds Cove – St. John’s

The above shot shows the view of Cuckolds Cove shortly after approaching it from North Head, a gorgeous view in my opinion. The inviting red carpet in the foreground is actually a colourful covering of crowberry shrubs.

After the viewpoint, the going got increasingly rough and wet; continuing down the hill with great care I eventually arrived at the lowest point of the trail, where I took great pleasure exploring the open cliffs:

Cliffs of Cuckolds Cove - St. John's

Cliffs of Cuckolds Cove – St. John’s

I spent quite a bit of time there enjoying the waves and such, I had the place all to myself:

Exploring the cliffs of Colourful Cuckolds Cove - St. John's

Exploring the cliffs of Colourful Cuckolds Cove – St. John’s

Yes, that’s me on those rocks, in a nice little self portrait 🙂