Big news: Marije and I are leaving Newfoundland.

We have been here for almost 6 years, and while we would love to stay, it is now time to move on… Marije has found a new job and it is all the way on the other side of Canada, in British Columbia!

It will be a fresh start for the both of us, and we are looking forward to whatever we may find there. Our new home will be on Vancouver Island, somewhere near the Pacific Biological Station in Nanaimo.

We are moving on, to Vancouver Island

We are moving on, to Vancouver Island

Friends of ours that have been to Vancouver Island assure us that we are going to love it there, and that is good to know. Like Newfoundland, the island offers an abundance of nature. We will still be able to see whales in summer, and hike many mountain, coastal and forest trails.

I will start a new blog to document our time there, more news on that later.

Is this the end of this blog?

No it is not. Firstly, we are not gone yet, we still have a bit of time left in Newfoundland, and I will keep posting pictures and stories as usual.

Secondly, there is the Capelin Calendar to consider. Even though I cannot update it with my own daily checks on the beach, other people may still want to share their capelin updates. The same goes for all the other local information pages, they will all remain available right here on this blog.

Lastly, there is more big news coming that I can’t tell you much about yet… It’s about something I’ve been working on for quite a while, and I think it will be of use to many readers of this site, especially to those who love hiking!

Are you curious? I sure hope so, stay tuned!