On a casual stroll around Quidi Vidi Lake today, I saw several interesting birds. Before even getting out of the car, I noticed two Bald Eagles sitting on the centre of the frozen lake. Eagles are such a common sight here in winter, that it puzzles me that some people still manage to overlook them.

Bald Eagles - Quidi Vidi Lake

Bald Eagles – Quidi Vidi Lake

Next up was a Peregrine Falcon, it was perched in a high tree and did not object to getting its picture taken:

Peregrine Falcon - Quidi Vidi Lake

Peregrine Falcon – Quidi Vidi Lake

After that came a duck. Yes a duck. I know ducks do not immediately come to mind when thinking of ‘special birds’, but this male Wood Duck passes the test ‘swimmingly’:

Wood Duck - Quidi Vidi Lake

Wood Duck – Quidi Vidi Lake

To finish off the list, there were several Cormorants swimming around and sitting on the edge of the ice. To my surprise, six people came up to me (separately) when I was taking this picture, asking me what kind of birds they were! Apparently this locally quite common bird is not well known:

Just a couple of plain old Cormorants - Quidi Vidi Lake

Just a couple of plain old Cormorants – Quidi Vidi Lake