Today I visited a wintry Stiles Cove, where I was the first hiker to walk through 20 cm of fresh snow, always a treat!

Should have brought my snow shovel - Satellite Road

Should have brought my snow shovel – Satellite Road

On the trail I did not actually see any wildlife, but I knew I wasn’t alone: I saw mouse tracks, squirrel tracks, hare tracks, fox tracks, and moose tracks! I  always enjoy these signs of wildlife, it gives me an idea of the kind of animals that are on the trail with me, even if I don’t run into them:

Snowshoe Hare tracks - Stiles Cove Path

Snowshoe Hare tracks – Stiles Cove Path

Hare and Moose tracks - Stiles Cove Path

Hare and Moose tracks – Stiles Cove Path

Fox tracks down the stairs - Stiles Cove Path

Fox tracks down the stairs – Stiles Cove Path

Aside from the tracks, there was the usual winter scenery at Stiles Cove itself:

Cliffs at Stiles Cove - Stiles Cove Path

Cliffs at Stiles Cove – Stiles Cove Path

Ice walls at Stiles Cove - Stiles Cove Path

Ice walls at Stiles Cove – Stiles Cove Path