Today I hiked a very foggy Spout Path. I wasn’t supposed to be like that, the forecast promised the fog would burn off in the morning. Instead of warm sunshine I ended up hiking the whole thing in 10 degrees with high wind on the exposed ridges, pretty cold for summer!

Early on I could hear whales swimming below me, I couldn’t see them because of the fog but it was obvious by the sound they were Humpbacks. Later I had a more exciting encounter with a coyote! It was a beautiful animal, healthy and big, I saw it from just 10 metres away when I turned a corner. It bolted off into the forest as soon as it saw me so I did not get a picture, but I was grateful for just this good look at it! Before today, I’ve only seen coyotes from much further away.

Anyway, here are some pictures of the foggy landscape:

Fog on Useless Bay - Spout Path

Fog on Useless Bay – Spout Path

Fog at Dungeon Cove - Spout Path

Fog at Dungeon Cove – Spout Path

Ledge waterfall at Freshwater - Spout Path

Ledge waterfall at Freshwater – Spout Path

At the Turn of Bald Head you can usually see all the way up the coast to Motion Path, but not today:

Foggy Turn of Bald Head - Spout Path

Foggy Turn of Bald Head – Spout Path

Near the end of my hike, the enormous sea stack at the centre of Drop Cove is almost visible:

Drop Cove Fog - Spout Path

Drop Cove Fog – Spout Path

Some foggy eh? Sometimes that’s just the way the day unfolds…