Those of you who have been keeping an eye on the Capelin Calendar will have noticed that so far this year has not been very eventful. However, earlier today Louis commented that capelin were in at Beachy Cove near Portugal Cove, so this afternoon I went out to see for myself.

This is what I found:

A beach black with capelin - Beachy Cove

A beach black with capelin – Beachy Cove

The giant dark mass you see is not seaweed, it’s all capelin. Thousands and thousands and thousands of them… Catching them was quite straightforward:

Nets and a bucket of capelin - Beachy Cove

Nets and a bucket of capelin – Beachy Cove

A bucket of capelin - Beachy Cove

A bucket of capelin – Beachy Cove

I did not stay long because I wanted to share the news here, I know many of you are very eager to see or get some capelin yourselves.