Yes, it’s that time of year again: the blackflies are back on the East Coast Trail.
For two weeks now they’ve been bugging me, with the last few days being especially bad. I usually just keep on walking because they can’t keep up with me. In the end it’s not their biting I mind, it’s their habit of buzzing up and down in front of my lens I find annoying.

Other signs of the new season: the coast is changing its colours. Greens are shooting up all over the place and blossoms are appearing along the trail, today I saw my first blueberry blossoms and some crackerberry blossoms too.

Forest animals are busy raising their young, out on the ocean the gannets are diving and some early whales can be seen in the bays. Next month I’ll start up my annual capelin calendar again, there are good times ahead!

New blossoms on the trail

New blossoms on the trail