After a spectacular summer it almost seems strange to have the clear change in the weather we’re having right now. In a matter of weeks the temperature went from just above twenty to just above freezing. Days are getting noticeably shorter, leaves are changing colour or are already gone, and today I was overtaken by a sudden downpour of hail…

We’ve seen a lot of rain too these past few weeks, enough to return many of the dried out trails to their usual wet state. My computer monitor is still gone so every day I make a choice between the dull indoors and the inclement outdoors; I usually end up somewhere outside with soaked shoes and cold fingers. I should start bringing gloves again.

Anyway, I just wanted to share the status quo with you. Like I said my computer monitor problem is both a bore and an inconvenience, so my blog update frequency is taking a bit of a hit I’m afraid, it will stay that way for a while.

Here’s one shot from today, taken on a blustery walk in Flatrock on the Beamer. Those clouds coming in from the left brought some nasty cold weather with them. Imagine a fierce cold gusting wind blowing through this picture and you’ve got a pretty good idea of what the hike was like:

Fall clouds over the Beamer - Father Troy's Trail

Fall clouds over the Beamer – Father Troy’s Trail