The iceberg season is almost at an end and signs of the following seasons are here. Wild berry shrubs have been blossoming for a few weeks now and it looks like we’re going to get a good harvest of blueberries this year, if it doesn’t get too hot or dry later this month.

Blueberry blossoms - Caplin Bay Path

Blueberry blossoms – Caplin Bay Path

Of course, the other seasonal ‘treats’ are much more popular: whales and capelin!

I’ve seen a handful of whales so far and many more are still on the way. I’m really looking forward to seeing all the different species again this year and I’ve started adding sightings to my Whales in Newfoundland page.

I’ve also started my checkups of Middle Cove beach again, in order to keep my Capelin Calendar up to date. So far there is little to see, but in a few weeks the activity should increase. If you’re interested in seeing capelin, easily visible signs to look for are large flocks of seabirds on the water, combined with whales diving and surfacing in the same place.