On every hike I make I keep a running tally of the things I see and do. It’s a fun little exercise that, for example, gives me a total of my hiked kilometres at the end of the month, and more stuff like that.

Today’s hike in numbers: The temperature was 20 Celsius, I hiked 25 kilometres. I saw 2 kingfishers, 1 moose, 5 eagles, 1 fox and 2 hares, in that order. I was bitten 19 times by blackflies, and swatted a greater amount of them just to keep the bite count that ‘low’. Also, I saw many butterflies and dragonflies, and blossoms of Crackerberries, Bunchberries, Blueberries and Strawberries.

Besides numbers, there are of course also pictures. Here’s the obligatory shot of me at the Spout:

Me at the Spout – Spout Path

Here’s the moose I almost walked into, it was very relaxed and let me take a few pictures before it disappeared into the woods:

Moose – Spout Path

And, for the first time ever, I crossed Shoal Bay Road without getting my feet wet! I usually just wade through the inundated section of the access trail, but I figured I’d try something new this time: I brought some trash bags to put my legs in…

Keeping my feet dry – Shoal Bay Road

Some people bring high rubber boots, others bring sandals and a towel, but I wanted to keep things as lightweight as possible since I’m hauling tons of photo equipment already. These trash bags did the trick even if they did make me look a little silly.