Motion Path shares many of its landscape features with Cape Spear Path, which is the trail ‘next door’. The difference between the two is found in the elevation profile; where Cape Spear Path’s mostly level trails and boardwalks beckon even the unexperienced hiker, Motion Path is more rugged and runs over and between two massive hills.

I like to hike Motion Path for its wildlife, I always see seals in The Bight and today was no exception. Unfortunately, this year’s batch of black flies was also out and about. These pesky bugs are just about the only wildlife that I could do without around here.

Another disappointment was that yesterday’s blue skies had moved on, I saw nothing but clouds and haze on this hike. Of course the sun broke through when I got back to the car… Anyway, lousy weather hikes are a part of life too, so here are a few shots from the trail:

Clouds and erratics at Motion Head – Motion Path

These erratics call out to me every time I walk by, you can find many ways and angles to photograph them, but I always get back to the way they appear to me right from the trail, which is what this shot shows.

As spring advances, the Crowberry heath is slowly turning green again:

Urchin in the Crowberry heath – Motion Path

Elevation is not the only challenge that makes Motion Path less suitable for casual hikers, the trail has many serious erosion problems too. In the next shot you can see why you shouldn’t just blindly follow the trail, in several spots you would simply walk off the edge!

Trail erosion – Motion Path

I wrote earlier that Motion Path offers many features that are similar to those found on Cape Spear Path, and here you go: the cliffs at Lower Cove bear a striking resemblance to those just south of Cape Spear:

Lower Cove – Motion Path

Looking north you can see Cape Spear itself, and with a little imagination you can even spot the lighthouses:

A cloudy day’s hike – Motion Path