After seeing today’s Ice Service chart, I hopped into the car and headed up north to see for myself what was there. Not one minute later I had a grin on my face that was too wide for the lane I was driving in, on the horizon I spotted a bright white line: sea ice! Another minute later, I saw the white line was accompanied by two white dots: icebergs!

I know, you are not excited. Somehow, nobody around here ever is. After parking the car in Pouch Cove I walked up the Cape St. Francis highway and ran into a guy who told me he’d rather see palm trees growing here, he didn’t want anything to do with the sea ice. Go figure.

Anyway, after you see the thin white line below I guess I understand why you’re not excited, it’s just a white line, here it is:

Sea ice on the horizon - Biscan Cove Path

Sea ice on the horizon – Biscan Cove Path

Not so special, is it? Let me explain that it’s the potential of this ice that has me excited, obviously not the way it looks right now. The last time I saw real sea ice on the East Coast Trail was in 2009, I would love to see it all the way in again because it makes the landscape look truly extraordinary. We’re still a long way out from seeing something like that again though…

By the way, here’s my first distant iceberg of the season, it’s almost on the horizon:

My first iceberg of 2012 - Biscan Cove Path

My first iceberg of 2012 – Biscan Cove Path

Sea ice aside, the rest of the hike was nice too. The forest was thawing under the sun, yesterday’s frozen rain was steadily falling from the branches. At times the sun was so warm, it started a shower of ice cubes all around me as well as on top of me. On steep hills the pieces of ice came careening down the slope like miniature bobsleds, sliding past me or crashing into my boots. For me, this was only the second time walking through a thawing forest, I had forgotten how much fun it was!

Here’s a few photos from the hike:

Yesterday's frozen rain, before the thaw - Cape St. Francis highway

Yesterday’s frozen rain, before the thaw – Cape St. Francis highway

Frozen cliffs - Biscan Cove Path

Frozen cliffs – Biscan Cove Path

The thaw, near Cape St. Francis - Biscan Cove Path

The thaw, near Cape St. Francis – Biscan Cove Path

Ice cubes on the forest floor - Biscan Cove Path

Ice cubes on the forest floor – Biscan Cove Path