When I dropped off Marije at work this morning she asked me what my plans were for today. I replied the weather was so lousy it wasn’t specifically suited for doing anything at all. I then asked Marije if perhaps she wanted to see a seal on the blog today, which she did, so I decided to find one on a drive around the northeast Avalon.

In Quidi Vidi I spotted two Bald Eagles on the ice, but they flew off before I got my camera out of the bag. The same tune was playing in Petty Harbour, one Bald Eagle, no other wildlife. Plenty of fog though:

Foggy winter scenery - Petty Harbour

Foggy winter scenery – Petty Harbour

In Bay Bulls I saw a small Dovekie swimming and diving in the harbour. It was Holyrood where I finally found my seal, it was resting on the harbour ice:

Harbour Seal on ice - Holyrood

Harbour Seal on ice – Holyrood

This was the exact same location where there were dozens of seals last year, but that was a little later in the season.

On the way home I passed Topsail beach, where I took a picture of the ferry and the fog coming off the cliffs:

Ferry returning from Bell Island - Topsail

Ferry returning from Bell Island – Topsail

A little closer to home still I stopped in St. Philip’s, where a Kingfisher was too quick for me, so I took a shot of the frozen wharf side instead:

Idle Speed Only - St. Philip's

Idle Speed Only – St. Philip’s

All in all, not a bad day.