Today was one of those days that started out all sunny with an optimistic weather forecast and everything, only to quickly change into a harsh, cold and cloudy day.

I was on Stiles Cove Path for most of it, the sun was bright and warm when I left the car in Pouch Cove, but after the first few kilometres dark clouds moved in overhead and that was all she wrote. I hiked the remainder of the day on frozen trails, wind swept barrens and had lunch while watching the flurries fly by over the ocean at Black Head North:

Cold clouds over Black Head North - Stiles Cove Path

Cold clouds over Black Head North – Stiles Cove Path

As you can see, even these cold dark days can be beautiful, but I guess it’s more of an acquired taste. There wasn’t much else to see, the crowberry heath is slowly turning red, the ice walls are growing, I saw some icicles that were already as big as me. Winter is near, you can feel it in the air.

When I first moved here, ice was one of those things that was remarkable to me, we have ice in the Netherlands too of course, but that’s very different. Today when I passed a typical frozen cliffside on the trail I decided to make a short video clip of the water flowing under the ice, a common sight here, and to me quite beautiful in its simplicity: