This afternoon when the sun came out for a brief moment, I hiked the first kilometres of Biscan Cove Path.

Biscuit what now? You can imagine my surprise when I found the following trailhead on East Coast Trail to Cape St. Francis:

Trailhead - Biscan Cove Path

Trailhead – Biscan Cove Path

When we first moved here this old trail didn’t have a formal name, I called it ‘Cape St. Francis Path’ when mentioning it here. Later I learned that ECTA used ‘Path to the Cape’ as an internal reference while developing it. Now that all the work is done, ‘Biscan Cove Path’ has apparently become the official name.

Well, whatever name it goes by, it still offers the same beautiful scenery as ever, it’s just a little easier to get to now that all the stairs and boardwalks are in place. Here are a few shots from this afternoon:

Quiet forest trail - Biscan Cove Path

Quiet forest trail – Biscan Cove Path

These quiet forest trails are a pleasure to hike, the ground is so soft that your footfall is somehow dampened. Out in the open, the trail was flanked by fall coloured Blueberry bushes (the red ones):

Fall coloured trail - Biscan Cove Path

Fall coloured trail – Biscan Cove Path

You can’t really see it in this next picture, but the drop down Coakers Gulch is pretty impressive:

View from the top of Coakers Gulch - Biscan Cove Path

View from the top of Coakers Gulch – Biscan Cove Path

These boardwalks make traversing the marshes a breeze:

Boardwalk - Biscan Cove Path

Boardwalk – Biscan Cove Path

When I exited the forest at Freshwater River the clouds had pretty much covered up the sky, making the waterfall look rather dull. The lack of water sure didn’t help things either:

Freshwater Falls - Biscan Cove Path

Freshwater Falls – Biscan Cove Path

This time around it cost me when I explored the rocks below the waterfall, I tore a hole in my jeans when I sat down for a lunch break at these cliffs:

Anti-slip rock surface - Biscan Cove Path

Anti-slip rock surface – Biscan Cove Path

Oh well, since I never seem to meet anybody on the trail, I think I can get away with it for one more year…