Yesterday after the storm, I went for a short walk on Father Troy’s Trail to stretch my legs. Later that night when I read Karen’s blog, I saw I would have been better off going to Cape Spear, she captured some beautiful shots there.

Father Troy’s Trail offers spectacular cliffs towering over the ocean up North towards Flatrock. In contrast, what you see here is the easy going Southern part of the trail in Torbay. It passes fenced meadows and quiet coastal forests, where you can hear both Torbay and the ocean in the background. Thoroughly unspectacular, but like I said, easy going and ideal for just stretching your legs.

Here’s a few shots typical for this rural part of the trail, unfortunately there wasn’t much light left so close to nightfall:

Stinging Nettles - Father Troy's Trail

Stinging Nettles – Father Troy’s Trail

Easy going - Father Troy's Trail

Easy going – Father Troy’s Trail

Dogberries along the way - Father Troy's Trail

Dogberries along the way – Father Troy’s Trail

At Gallows Cove there are several seaside meadows which are fenced off, this time around one of them had an open gate so I walked down the road a little bit:

Seaside meadow - Father Troy's Trail

Seaside meadow – Father Troy’s Trail

As you can see by the dark foreground the sun was setting fast so I started my return walk, this is the scene I walked in on when I came out of the forest:

Moon over Torbay - Father Troy's Trail

Moon over Torbay – Father Troy’s Trail

This is the same moment, but zoomed in:

Sunset colours over Torbay - Father Troy's Trail

Sunset colours over Torbay – Father Troy’s Trail

Shortly after sunset and almost back at the car, I took one last shot of the sky behind me as vague anti-crepuscular rays appeared to converge over Torbay Point:

Anti-crepuscular rays over Torbay - Father Troy's Trail

Anti-crepuscular rays over Torbay – Father Troy’s Trail