We’re after another beautiful September day and I spent most of it at the big Waterford River waterfall in Bowring Park, watching the aquatic acrobatics of the local flying circus. I just reviewed the photos and it seems there are several different species of fish that are jumping at the moment, it’s not just the Brown Trout.

The information plaque at the fish ladder suggests that apart from Brown Trout, there are also Brook Trout, Rainbow Trout and Atlantic Salmon coming through this water system. Here’s a few photos from today, I’ve cropped them very tight intentionally to facilitate identification for those that are interested in this sort of thing:

Jumping Brown Trout - Bowring Park, St. John's

Jumping Brown Trout – Bowring Park, St. John’s

Jumping Brown Trout - Bowring Park, St. John's

Jumping Brown Trout – Bowring Park, St. John’s

Jumping Brown Trout - Bowring Park, St. John's

Jumping Brown Trout – Bowring Park, St. John’s

Jumping Brown Trout - Bowring Park, St. John's

Jumping Brown Trout – Bowring Park, St. John’s

Jumping Brown Trout - Bowring Park, St. John's

Jumping Brown Trout – Bowring Park, St. John’s

I’m no expert but I do see some differences between these fish, apart from size. If there’s a trout expert reading this blog please feel free to comment on the different species, if indeed that is the case.

UPDATE:

I’ve contacted the Fluvarium about the identification of these trout, and they appear to be Brown Trout after all. Three types of Brown Trout were introduced in the St. John’s area and the colour variations seen here are likely due to interbreeding. The ones with silver hue may be of the sea run variety.

My thanks to Paul for suggesting I contact the Fluvarium and my thanks to Bob for helping me with the information and identification!