Sixteen degrees Celsius: Sweet bliss.

With no wind to speak of, today was just about perfect T-shirt weather for me. I took a morning boat trip out of Bay Bulls where I saw one very large seal and a surprising amount of puffins, like maybe a hundred of them when I was expecting none at all. As a bonus every last one of them had a beak filled with fish!

Atlantic Puffin with lunch - Witless Bay Ecological Reserve

Atlantic Puffin with lunch – Witless Bay Ecological Reserve

When a further search of the reserve came up empty, we had a quick look at the East Coast Trail near the lighthouse, the trail was thick with hikers, I saw no less than 20 of them in all.

Lots of hikers - Spout Path

Lots of hikers – Spout Path

After the boat I stretched my legs for a bit on Tinkers Point Path, which runs from Mobile to Tors Cove. Along the trail I found an abundance of blueberries, but they were all very small. I guess summer came too late for the berries to grow to a proper size before it gets cold again…

The blueberries are late - Tinkers Point Path

The blueberries are late – Tinkers Point Path

A beautiful day - Tinkers Point Path

A beautiful day – Tinkers Point Path

Close to Tinkers Point - Tinkers Point Path

Close to Tinkers Point – Tinkers Point Path

At Tinkers Point I saw a Minke Whale feeding in the bay, I stopped to enjoy my lunch together with this whale, as it may well be the last time I see one this year.