I’ve been out on the trail the last few days, walking and relaxing at the viewpoints hoping to catch a glimpse of the whales that are arriving in Newfoundland. Not every one of these outings gets a front page update on this blog, but when I see something worth mentioning I’ll be sure to make a note of it on my recent whale sightings page.

So far I’ve seen several whales on every outing, even though sometimes they only appear far away in the distance. It’s mostly Humpbacks, Minkes, Finbacks and a few kinds of Dolphins for now, but who knows what may show up later this summer, I’m keeping my eyes open. Yesterday I was out on Torbay Point with Marije, all the whales we saw were at least 1 kilometre out to sea, the kind of thing you need a decent pair of binoculars for. At those distances I don’t even bother with taking pictures, unless it’s for identification purposes, so I was glad we had one very close encounter too, albeit of the avian kind and not of the cetacean:

LBJ with insects - Cobbler Path

LBJ with insects – Cobbler Path

Here’s the same picture but as a closeup:

(closeup of) LBJ with insects - Cobbler Path

(closeup of) LBJ with insects – Cobbler Path

It’s nice that at least some of the wildlife is cooperating, don’t you agree?

By the way if there’s a proper birder out there who can tell me what kind of bird this is, please do tell me. Some kind of Thrush is my guess.