Summer is here again, to me these last few days have been almost tropical. I don’t mind it though, I’m looking forward to seeing the whales again, in the last week I’ve seen a fair share already but by no means is this the bounty of whales I enjoyed in 2010. Let’s hope their numbers increase soon.

In the mean time the capelin are still rolling, lupins and hawkweed are shooting up on the side of the road and the Ocean Sciences Centre’s touch tank is drawing a lot of visitors. And they’re closing it after this week. What? Yes, they’re closing it! Thanks to a big construction plan that is about to kick in the touch tank will be closed until some time in 2013. So, if you’re in the mood to see it one last time, stop by soon or it will be all gone.

I visited there today and took a few pictures with my underwater camera:

Urchin - Ocean Sciences Centre touch tank, Logy Bay

Urchin – Ocean Sciences Centre touch tank, Logy Bay

Starfish - Ocean Sciences Centre touch tank, Logy Bay

Starfish – Ocean Sciences Centre touch tank, Logy Bay

Sea Cucumber - Ocean Sciences Centre touch tank, Logy Bay

Sea Cucumber – Ocean Sciences Centre touch tank, Logy Bay

Brittle Star - Ocean Sciences Centre touch tank, Logy Bay

Brittle Star – Ocean Sciences Centre touch tank, Logy Bay