This morning I was at Middle Cove beach from 4 AM to 5 AM, when I saw the first tangible signs of capelin. There were hundreds of dead capelin on the beach, so at least some of them rolled last night. The local gulls gobbled them up just after 5 AM, I can now see why sometimes when I visit the beach there is ‘no sign of capelin’: the high waves combined with the birds do an excellent job of cleaning up the beach.

Because of the low number of capelin on the beach this morning, I suspect we will get more soon.

Capelin on the beach - Middle Cove

Capelin on the beach – Middle Cove

Clean up crew:

Hungry gulls - Middle Cove

Hungry gulls – Middle Cove

JUNE 26 / AFTERNOON UPDATE:

Bucket of Capelin - Middle Cove

Bucket of Capelin – Middle Cove

This afternoon, many more capelin arrived in Middle Cove, see my latest comment on the Capelin Calendar.