Today was the fourth day in a string of foggy days on the East coast, in fact it’s still the same cooling fog that rolled in on the 4th of June. Personally I don’t mind the fog, I think it’s atmospheric and it offers near ideal lighting conditions for the spring blossoms that are appearing along the trail right now (photography-wise).

What this dense fog is not so good for is whale watching; luckily whale listening can be nearly as much fun. Today I hiked Cobbler Path, totally enveloped by fog that didn’t even allow me a glimpse of the ocean, but I could still hear the waves crashing on the cliffs below me. Peering into the fog I suddenly heard a big spout nearby, it was a Humpback that came up for air again and again. Hearing and not seeing a whale from this close brought a very broad grin to my face. Actually, I’m still grinning as I’m typing this.

Can't see the sea - Cobbler Path

Can’t see the sea – Cobbler Path

Can you see the whale?

Neither can I.