Today I enjoyed another fine hike on Spout Path and so did a lot of other folks: I encountered no less than 12 overnight campers and 2 day-hikers, a record number for me and to be honest a little too busy for my taste.

All this trail activity is of course due to the long May 2-4 weekend, which apparently is somewhat of a party weekend for many Newfoundlanders. Most of the campsites I passed along the way had a generous assortment of empty beer cans and wine bottles sprawled around the tents, but luckily most of it was cleaned up by the time I passed them on the way back.

I saw the otter again at the same spot I saw it last time, and the Spout was spouting mightier than I’ve ever seen it before. Today was also the first time I wasn’t tired after the hike, no slogging at the end or anything, 24 kilometres and energy to spare, I was very pleased about that.

Me at the Spout - Spout Path

Me at the Spout – Spout Path