For two days now the sun has been in the forecast but not in the sky. Instead we got a lot of fog and when temperatures dropped last night we even saw some ice fog, which left a frosty layer on the peaks around Marine Drive. This afternoon, the sun finally broke through and I embraced it while hiking on Cape St. Francis Path.

Both IcebergFinder and the Canadian Ice Service report the locations of icebergs, but I figured it couldn’t hurt to be on the lookout myself. In theory, Cape St. Francis is an ideal spot to see them coming but I was unable to look through the haze that hovered over Conception Bay. Here’s a couple of pictures from today:

Frozen dew drop - Logy Bay

Frozen dew drop – Logy Bay

It’s very common to see dew drops collected on these little crowns in the early morning, but I had never seen one that was frozen. This morning they were everywhere, I had to knock one over to make sure I wasn’t imagining things, but it fell of the crown in one piece, rolling down the blades of grass like a tiny crystal ball.

Colourful shallows - Cape St. Francis

Colourful shallows – Cape St. Francis

This colourful ocean inlet is calling out to me with its tropical colours, it’s inviting me to come in for a swim. I’m quite sure I would freeze to death within a few minutes though, this tiny pool below the Cape St. Francis lighthouse is directly connected to the chilly Atlantic Ocean.

Biscayan Cove and Cape St. Francis - Cape St. Francis Path

Biscayan Cove and Cape St. Francis – Cape St. Francis Path

In this shot you can see the haze beyond Cape St. Francis, for all I knew there was a whole armada of icebergs out there, taunting me.

On top of the hills the sun came out in full force and I walked along Biscayan Cove to the Anvil Rock Loop and back again. I passed by a couple of islands, I’ve named them here on this shot, for no particular reason:

Islands near Cape St. Francis - Cape St. Francis Path

Islands near Cape St. Francis – Cape St. Francis Path