Yes, I realize unspectacle is not a word, but it suitably describes yesterday night. I’m referring to the events predicted in my previous post.

Dense clouds on the Western horizon totally obscured the sunset, so there was no colourful foreground to frame the conjunction of Jupiter and Mercury and the planets disappeared behind the clouds before reaching peak visibility.

Instead, the sky was plain, the planets were hard to see and the moment was utterly unspectacular.

I took a shot anyway:

Jupiter and Mercury over Conception Bay - Topsail

Jupiter and Mercury over Conception Bay – Topsail

It’s hard to see them in that wide field photo, so here’s a crop from where they are in the sky:

Jupiter and Mercury over Conception Bay - Topsail

Jupiter and Mercury over Conception Bay – Topsail

The planets are both still visible the coming days so perhaps I’ll get another shot at it.