I hiked a 5km piece of the Cape St. Francis Path this morning, there was hardly any sun so it all looked a bit bleak. In places the snow was deep and soft, making the going slow, in other places the snow was frozen solid, making the going even slower.

I started the hike from the South trailhead near the commemorative plate for the Water Witch shipwreck and worked my way up to Freshwater Falls, after that I continued over several unnamed streams before making a bee-line due West to the road from Biscayan Cove back to Pouch Cove.

View near Coaker's Gulch - Cape St. Francis Path

View near Coaker's Gulch - Cape St. Francis Path

Moose tracks - Cape St. Francis Path

Moose tracks - Cape St. Francis Path

Moose tracks were all over the trail, in places the moose droppings were so thick on the treadway it was almost impossible avoiding them. Check out this moose print, for comparison’s sake I placed my boot next to it, which measures 11 inches.

Frozen Freshwater Falls - Cape St. Francis Path

Frozen Freshwater Falls - Cape St. Francis Path

A wide shot at Freshwater Falls, what you see here is Freshwater falling off the cliffs and flowing into the ocean. Such an unappealing picture for such a pretty place.

Here’s a close up of the waterfall:

Freshwater Falls - Cape St. Francis Path

Freshwater Falls - Cape St. Francis Path

~

Before I went home I explored a small piece of the ‘downtown’ Pouch Cove coastline; this is a tiny sea arch close to the Stiles Cove Path trailhead:

Tiny sea arch - Pouch Cove

Tiny sea arch - Pouch Cove