We had car trouble today. The first time I noticed anything was just before I pulled out of the driveway this afternoon, the car took a second longer to start up. I thought nothing of it, it’s cold outside so these things happen I guess. Then, after getting groceries, the car didn’t start up at all the first time around, I tried it a second time and all was well again, except that a red warning light on the dashboard told me to check the battery.

I was able to drive home and pull into the driveway without further trouble, and I should have stayed right there.

But I didn’t stay right there. I mistakenly assumed the battery just needed to be charged so I decided to take the car for a drive to replenish its energy levels. On the way to Pouch Cove the aforementioned car trouble happened: all the lights went out, the gages went dead, I could no longer signal left or right and in the end the engine stalled with an unceremonious pop. I was able to drive on a little way on momentum alone and as luck would have it I pulled into the driveway of the Flatrock Auto Centre which had a big ‘OPEN’ sign in the window.

I soon found out it wasn’t open though.

Inspect this! - Flatrock

Inspect this! - Flatrock

To make a long story short: it took me 4 hours to get home after that.

I was able to make several calls to Marije when I knocked on the door of the nearest house. She organized a towing truck that passed me by two hours later. Twenty minutes later it managed to find me again. An hour later I was at our own garage in St. John’s where the towing guy abandoned me without so much as a goodbye or a call to a cab company.

A little later still, a car drove up looking for this garage. It had already closed but these kind people were able to sympathize with my troubles, so thankfully they called me a cab.

Before the cab showed up, I took a photo of this very young moon. It’s less than 26 hours old so it’s kind of hard to see but I had plenty of time to find it in the sky. In case you can’t find it, it’s just above the trees on the left side of the big sign:

Young moon - St. John's

Young moon - St. John's

After all of this I’m very glad to just be home, also very tired and not looking forward to a week without a car.