Don’t let the name fool you, Paradise is not a heavenly garden for those enjoying the afterlife, it’s a cold and snow swept town South of St. John’s. Every time snow falls on St. John’s, you can bet your snow shovel that Paradise has received more than double that amount of snow. I drove by there today on my way to get some groceries and parked my car next to a cleared driveway:

A patch of snow on the lawn - Paradise

A patch of snow on the lawn - Paradise

Those living here will see this as nothing of particular interest, but those back in Holland might think this is some sort of trickery: let me tell you, it’s not. Everybody here has a pile like this on their lawn, it’s the result of clearing the snow out of the driveway and off the sidewalk, all that snow has to go somewhere so the front yard serves as a place to keep it until spring.

After visiting Paradise I finished my grocery shopping and drove back via Marine Drive, to have a look at the beach:

Wintery beach - Middle Cove

Wintery beach - Middle Cove

Middle Cove beach doesn’t get a lot of visitors in winter, mostly just people walking their dog, and it shows. Everywhere on the beach the snow had translucent patches of yellow, and brown…

You know, I don’t have any problem walking near edges and cliffs, a hundred metres over the ocean, or hiking through deep snow in a fierce snow squall, at night, but the sight of this yellow stained beach actually gave me some pause…

Anyway, I soldiered on and explored the beach. I was hoping to see some frozen pebbles, like I saw when I first moved here. Still nothing though, the only frozen things were on both ends of the beach. The walls there trickle with little streams of water all year long, and in winter that water forms big icicles:

Ice walls on the East end of the beach - Middle Cove

Ice walls on the East end of the beach - Middle Cove

I love the way that getting some simple groceries can turn into a pint sized winter adventure, I guess it’s all just part of living in Newfoundland 🙂