There are two things we have plenty of today: one of them is snow and the other is flu. Last week I had to contend with the flu myself and this week it’s Marije’s turn. She’s been down and out for the count for well over three days now, poor thing. Outside we have lots of snow, it’s still coming down right now. Yesterday I hiked snowy Cobbler Path on Torbay Point during the start of the big squall, which was a great experience. The snow was very deep but it had a hardened crust, I managed to tip-toe over of most of it but sometimes the crust gave way underneath my considerable weight and I sank down deep, which wasn’t all bad since it cooled off my weary knees. Out on the open cliffs, the winds whipped up the snow and sleet so hard that the flakes hit and bruised my eyes every time I dared to look East, into the oncoming snow squall.

By comparison, today is much calmer, the snow is still coming down but without all the drama caused by the high winds. This is the serene view out of our window right now:

Snow outside the window - Torbay

Snow outside the window - Torbay