CBC HarbourCam, February 1 2011

CBC HarbourCam, February 1 2011

“Wow” is what I said looking outside this morning. It’s very bright and very white out there, snow is blowing around the house in fine white crystals. If I weren’t possessed by this slimy flu monster I would be out on the trail right now, in fact I feel moderately well enough this morning that I might even pull it off. Common sense tells me to stay inside though, because while every day I might feel a little better in the mornings, I get very tired during the day from all the coughing, so in all probability I can’t muster the energy for a hike in subzero temperatures and deep snow just yet.

I bet a few of you are hiking right now, wearing snowshoes perhaps. I’m not sure what the conditions on the trail are since I haven’t hiked them for two weeks now, there’s probably enough snow on them, maybe the rivers are even frozen solid enough to walk over again. If any of you did go out there today please let me know, I’d love to see the pictures!

Oh well, it seems like there will be enough snow left for me when I recover:

Things can only get better - The Weather Network

Things can only get better - The Weather Network

In the mean time have a look at these great shots Karen took yesterday when she flew home from Ottawa, flying over St. John’s harbour and the Sugarloaf. I wish I could have flown over St. John’s or Torbay during the day like this, when I flew home to Newfoundland it was dark by the time I reached the airport.

Perhaps somebody out there knows if it’s possible to do an affordable helicopter tour over St. John’s and the surrounding area. I see helicopters flying around here all the time, and I don’t think they’re all bound for the oil rigs or taking aerial shots for the Republic of Doyle.