Aside from my annoying and increasingly common knee failures, the flu is pretty much the only thing that keeps me inside for extended periods. After three days of complete and utter misery, today is the first day I feel ‘well’ enough to ‘do’ anything, like in this case turning on the computer. I must have picked up this nasty flu in Holland, or maybe in that disease ridden means of public transport called ‘air travel’, as if there weren’t enough reasons to avoid air travel these days. Anyway, while at the moment I may feel terrible I’m pretty sure I’m over the worst of it, I’m even cautiously looking at the weather forecast for the end of the week.

Since I know nobody likes text-only blog posts, and I haven’t seen anything in Newfoundland since I got home, here are a few disparate images from my trip to Holland last week:

Me and my mom - Wijk bij Duurstede

Me and my mom - Wijk bij Duurstede

Wijk bij Duurstede is the town I grew up in, me and my mom visited it a couple of times last week.

My old shoes - Nijmegen

My old shoes - Nijmegen

The hiking boots I prefer are Dutch army boots, I’ve been wearing identical pairs of these boots for over fifteen years. They obviously don’t sell these in Newfoundland so I picked up a fresh pair in Holland and left my old pair there.

A decent vegetarian selection - Veenendaal

A decent vegetarian selection - Veenendaal

I’m a vegetarian, which is sort of a hassle in Newfoundland. In Holland you will find a decent vegetarian selection as shown above in every run of the mill supermarket you can find.

Well, that’s it for this update from the Land of the Flu. After ten minutes on the computer I feel awful again so I’m lowering my expectations for the rest of the week immediately.