I spent last Friday and Saturday on Bell Island, hoping to make full use of the clear skies that graced the night forecast that day. However, as usual, clear skies eventually turned into cloudy skies. In my experience, four out of five clear nights (in the forecast) turn out to be either foggy or cloudy.

While I was disappointed when the clouds intervened I did not let it ruin my trip; I walked around quite a bit and found a few nice new locations, to which I will certainly return later this year as the skies grow increasingly dark.

Here’s a few shots from my short ‘trip’ to the Belle of the Bay:

Sea & Cliffs at dusk - Bell Island

Sea & Cliffs at dusk – Bell Island

The violet rim on top of this photo is the ‘Belt of Venus’, the visual effect of Earth’s shadow being cast upon the evening sky, about half an hour after sunset. You can see it on every clear night.

My shadow on an iron ore wall - Bell Island

My shadow on an iron ore wall – Bell Island

The cliffs in this area are naturally red, as they’re largely made of iron ore. Around sunset this red colour takes on a life of its own, as you can see in this photo.

Blue hour at Shoe Rock - Bell Island

Blue hour at Shoe Rock – Bell Island

I took this shot not long after the Saturday sunset, clouds were showing up all over the place so I left the island soon after nightfall.