On my way to get some groceries, I stopped at Middle Cove beach to take in some fresh air. There wasn’t a lot to see, just another RDF day. When after a few minutes of browsing the beach for lost treasure I was still empty handed, I walked up the Middle Cove trail, or rather the ‘Silver Mine Head Path’, as ECTA calls it.

I noticed they had put in some stepping stones going uphill, a welcome change since the last time I was there so I decided to see what else they had done a little further down the line.

Soggy Forest - Middle Cove

Soggy Forest - Middle Cove

The trail was very soggy and slippery thanks to all the exposed roots coming up through the ground. After a few minutes of dark forest I came out the other end to see that ECTA had indeed put in some more work, putting down a fresh stretch of boardwalk to facilitate the crossing of Jones Pond Brook:

Foggy Coast - Middle Cove

Foggy Coast - Middle Cove

After crossing this small stream you’re almost at Motion in Torbay, the only thing stopping you is the small waterfall coming down Northern Pond Brook. You can cross it if you want to, but you’ll possibly get wet feet in the attempt, that spot is just begging for a small bridge or some well placed stepping stones.