I live in Torbay, close to the ocean. It’s nice enough here but it’s definitely not the place to be for spectacular fall colours as the deciduous trees are vastly outnumbered by evergreen spruces and pines.

Because staying inside lamenting the lack of pretty foliage in Torbay gets me nowhere, I figured I might as well go to nowhere today, so with the car fresh back from the garage I headed out the door with a vague plan of visiting at least 2 out of 5 possible destinations.

Leisurely cruising down the Trans Canada Highway I enjoyed the music on the radio and the colourful barrens, bogs, hills and forests gliding past my passenger window. After the TCH came Route 90 and after that the gravel roads began; the radio was starting to stutter and I could barely hear the opening words to a familiar tune: “I don’t know where I’m going,…“. Grinning from ear to ear I decided this was now officially a roadtrip so I sang alongĀ at the top of my voice on my way to nowhere.

Finally arriving in the middle of nowhere I found the park I’ve been wanting to visit for a while now, just to see what it had to offer. It’s a tiny little thing, Cataracts Provincial Park, but it’s nice there. Basically it’s a few waterfalls and a river cascading down a small and narrow gorge. There’s a steep stairway going down to the river so you can get a closer look:

Waterfall - Cataracts Provincial Park

Waterfall - Cataracts Provincial Park

I was all alone in the park and that’s just the way I like it, this way I was able to try out a new ND filter that allows for very long exposures, which gives you the ‘flowing water’ effect you see in this photo. It’s an effect to be used sparingly because it can quickly become tacky, but there’s a few other uses for such a filter too which is what I bought it for in the first place.

Flowing Water - Cataracts Provincial Park

Flowing Water - Cataracts Provincial Park

After a few hours of watching water flow, I left the park and headed up North for a drive along Route 60. There are a lot of good fall foliage ‘opportunities’ along that road but the light was fading so I decided to watch the show from the car as I drove on back home.