Ursa Major over Red Cliff - Shooting Point Cove

Ursa Major over Red Cliff - Shooting Point Cove

Last night was great; I hiked up Cobbler Path just before sunset to enjoy the rise of Jupiter and the star filled sky that followed. A truly clear sky is a rarity here in Newfoundland, often a couple of lost clouds stray into view, or worse, fog engulfs me just as I’ve set up my camera for the night. But, like I said: last night was great, I was out from 5PM until 5AM, hiking under a star filled clear sky with a nearly full moon lighting my way. On the wildlife side of this story: I was greeted by a grouse, an eagle and a fox.

Star Trails over Torbay Point - Cobbler Path

Star Trails over Torbay Point - Cobbler Path

In this photo you can see that a clear sky at your location you does not equal a clear sky in your line of sight, these hazy clouds for example are all the way over distant Baccalieu Island but still manage to ruin the photo. The lines in the sky are the trails left by the stars as earth rotates underneath them.

After 12 hours of photography and walking all the way back to the car I still had some work to do, as the entire car was covered in a thick coat of frost, serving as a chilling reminder that fall is indeed upon us.

Note: I’ve added some Jupiter photos to the previous post.