Yes, summer is most definitely over.

My morning routine includes checking the online weather forecast and this morning we were treated to the first two weather warnings of the fall season, first an ominous ‘tropical storm watch’ and second a ‘heavy rainfall warning’. Any plans of seeing the moon rise over Signal Hill tomorrow are straight out the window, it’s going to get plenty wet in St. John’s:

Hurricane Igor approaches Newfoundland - Map Credit: Weather Network

Hurricane Igor approaches Newfoundland – Map Credit: Weather Network

Many of you may already have seen coverage of this on TV, but I don’t watch TV (at all) so for me news always comes through bookmarks and e-mails. I quite enjoy the media this way, I only consume what interests me, and this storm is delicious as far as I’m concerned.

If you’re stuck inside, don’t worry, there’s always some video clips on youtube to fit your mood on a rainy day. Try these on for size: Guns ‘n Roses, Prince, Jermaine Jackson, and maybe even Wet Wet Wet.