A while back, Google introduced Street View to St. John’s and the direct vicinity. At that time, there wasn’t really that much to see beyond, for example, Torbay.

I don’t know when they expanded Street View to include more of the Avalon Peninsula, but they did. I was recently adding trailhead links to my hiking page and much to my surprise, pretty much every road in the neighbourhood had become visible online.

Try it for yourself: visit Google Maps and drag the little yellow guy onto your map, roads that are available in Street View will show up highlighted in blue. You can pretty much drop the yellow guy anywhere on the Avalon now, have a look:

Street View on the Avalon, highlighted in blue.

Street View on the Avalon, highlighted in blue.

By the way, those little blue dots aren’t Street View but user submitted photos.

Here’s a few familiar Street Views for me:

Some of you may have noticed that one of the blue lines runs all the way up the Trans Canada Highway. I hope they will include the remaining roads and streets of Newfoundland soon, and while they’re at it why not add Labrador too.

Street View in the rest of Newfoundland

Street View in the rest of Newfoundland