With blue skies above, I hopped on a second Witless Bay boat tour. Counting the past 20 months, it’s actually more like my tenth boat tour. I’ve tried 4 different tour operators now, maybe I’ll try the other tours as well and include a review of them in the Whales section of this blog.

Puffin comes up with Capelin - Witless Bay Ecological Reserve

Puffin comes up with Capelin - Witless Bay Ecological Reserve

Anyhow, today’s tour was excellent. A beautiful ocean, fine music and atmosphere, excellent weather and I saw lots of cool animals. The Puffins were flying in with capelin in their little orange beaks, one Puffin had caught a different prey, upon closer photo inspection it turned out it had a beakful of shrimp. Another rare sight was a Leach’s Storm-petrel that flew by, these birds are supposed to be asleep during the day. I also saw a Greater Shearwater, a bird I hadn’t seen before either.

Greater Shearwater - Witless Bay Ecological Reserve

Greater Shearwater - Witless Bay Ecological Reserve

The basic idea of the tour is of course the watching of whales, this pretty much means that when the crew spots a whale, the boat launches into hot pursuit. Now, I like whales a lot, don’t get me wrong. But when I’ve just found a sweet spot for seeing and taking pictures of Puffins I’m pretty disappointed when we have to leave the birds and go out just to see a Humpback.

Today though, we got very close to 2 Finbacks! I hadn’t seen those before from up close and personal, we were within 10 metres, it just sort of swam up to the boat before making a terminal dive.

Finback surfacing - Atlantic Ocean

Finback surfacing - Atlantic Ocean