This past weekend was gorgeous, and I’m not just talking about the weather. I spent both days watching the whales feeding off Ship Cove Point and Torbay Point, and they put on a great show. The humpbacks in particular were very active at both locations, breaching and lunge feeding, in fact they were so entertaining that quite a flock of followers amassed on the viewpoints every time the show started.

Here are some photos of the whales from this weekend:

A kayaker gets close - off Ship Cove Point

A kayaker gets close - Ship Cove Point

On saturday there were some kayakers on the water; when we arrived I set up my camera on the cliff’s edge and a kayaker yelled from down below if I had taken his picture while the whale swam right underneath his kayak. I replied I hadn’t even seen it but I wouldn’t mind taking his picture if he would just do it again. The kayaker peddled away mumbling something unintelligible.

Humpback Whale - Torbay Point

Humpback Whale - Torbay Point

On the trail when I’m taking pictures of humpbacks, or on a boat tour for that matter, I often hear people being surprised by the big green things right next to the whale. It’s not a baby, nor is the whale caught up in some sort of fishing gear, those things are its pectoral fins and they are white on top. These long bright fins actually provide you with a good way to spot the whales before they surface.

Front row seat - near Torbay Point

Front row seat - near Torbay Point

These guys had their own private show, in the right place at the right time. I wish I could have been there with them…

If the weather improves tonight, I’ll be enjoying the next show with Marije while we are having a picnic with a view.