Last night the skies were mostly clear, so I headed out for a walk on the beamer in Flatrock hoping to see the tail end of the Perseids meteor shower. There was no moon out so I had an exceptionally clear view of the night sky, I could even see the milky way from my driveway in Torbay before heading out.

At my final destination in Flatrock I put down a blanket I had brought with me, set up my camera to take photos on its own, and laid back to enjoy the show. I saw many meteors, or shooting stars as some call them. A lot of them were similar to shooting stars I see on every night hike but some were far brighter than others. That was unexpected to me, as this was my first time watching a meteor shower. Next year I hope the skies will be clear on the peak day, not on the day after, like yesterday.

At 1 AM the clouds moved in and veiled the view so I packed up my stuff and went back home. Here’s one of the shots from last night, don’t look for a shooting star in this photo because there are none in it:

Clouds obstructing my view - Flatrock

Clouds obstructing my view – Flatrock