Marije was working late today. I was going to pick her up from work and I had told her not to worry if things got late because I could always watch the whales outside her office while I was waiting. On the way over to Logy Bay I passed by Middle Cove and saw plenty of humpbacks in the bay, just looking out my car window driving along Marine Drive. No such luck in Logy Bay though, I waited for over an hour and all I saw were two Minke whales popping up now and again.

Then, something moved into the bay. At first I saw it in the corner of my eye: something big and black was slicing through the water, cutting it like a huge knife ploughing through the waves. I didn’t connect the dots at that instance, only when I looked through my binoculars I knew what I was looking at: a Killer Whale! In Dutch this whale goes by the name ‘Zwaardwalvis‘, which literally translates to ‘Sword Whale’, because of the huge fin slashing through the water.

As I stood there amazed, it occurred to me I should take some pictures. Marije has always wanted to see these awesome whales in the wild, and here they were right outside her office while she was inside caught up in her work. I had no way of contacting her so I snapped as many shots as I could so she could at least have a good look at the pictures.

As I was taking pictures I counted six whales in this pod, probably a family because there was one huge whale, another very big one and four smaller but still large whales. The fishing boats that were passing by were obviously not as impressed as I was, some folks inside the boat didn’t even glance at them, while other just boated over to have a short look before heading out to catch some more fish.

When I had a decent amount of OK shots, I decided to go get Marije. She just had to come outside to see them, but when I started up the hill I saw her standing there 🙂 She had come out about half an hour after I spotted them and had been standing behind me for a few minutes, enjoying the show. After she joined me, we both had a good look at them as they swam around for about an hour as they moved in and out of the bay. In the end a big humpback showed up and this somehow broke their routine, they came back once more and after that they were gone.

Well, enough talk, here are some shots from the whales at the Ocean Sciences Centre:

Killer whale pod - Logy Bay

Killer whale pod – Logy Bay

Here’s a shot where you can see the big one and three smaller ones, the first of the three smaller ones is in front of the large fin, you can just make out its small dorsal fin. The group never got within 250 metres of us, had we been on Sugarloaf Path we would have had a much better view I’m sure.

Kayak encounter - Logy Bay

Kayak encounter – Logy Bay

These lucky guys got a very good look at them, in fact they had the best seat in the house.

Killer whale at last light - Logy Bay

Killer whale at last light – Logy Bay

We had one last good look at them before the sun went down, as they disappeared around the corner, heading South.

Marije, after seeing a killer whale - Logy Bay

Marije, after seeing a killer whale – Logy Bay