For me, one of the main reasons for keeping an eye on the capelin is the activity that these little fish bring with them. Thousands of seabirds come in to make breakfast, lunch and dinner out of these small smelt, and so do many whales.

This morning I noticed a big increase in bird activity about 500 metres from Middle Cove. When I sat down on the beach to photograph all the diving and chasing that was going on, I saw a finback blowing in the distance so I decided to leave the crowded beach behind and head for a vantage point further up the road.

Kittiwake catches a capelin - Middle Cove beach

Kittiwake catches a capelin – Middle Cove beach

I sat down on the cliffside at Ship Cove Point, where I saw all sorts of whale action. They were coming in left and right, chasing the capelin, making all sorts of sounds, flapping their tails and fins. Off in the distance towards Torbay Point there was even a humpback that kept on leaping out of the water for a while.

Just when I thought things couldn’t get any crazier, some people actually came up to me and asked me if I was the guy with the capelin blog… Imagine that!

I wouldn’t have been surprised one bit if a whale had come out of the water next, to ask me if I was newfoundsander.

Here are some photos from today:

Humpback throwing its tail - Middle Cove

Humpback throwing its tail – Middle Cove

Humpback breaching in the distance - Middle Cove

Humpback breaching in the distance – Middle Cove

Hump-pack - Middle Cove

Hump-pack – Middle Cove

Humpback scaring a saddleback - Middle Cove

Humpback scaring a saddleback – Middle Cove

When it was finally time to go, some kayakers showed up so I waited a little longer. The whales kept their distance but the guy in the kayak still got a good look I suppose:

Close encounter - Middle Cove

Close encounter – Middle Cove